Pickled Autumn Beets

pickled beetsMy friend Lucia shared a jar of her mother’s pickled beets with me recently and I just loved them. This recipe is my virtually raw interpretation. In order for a food to be considered raw it must not go over approximately 118 degrees Fahrenheit. My oven only goes as far down as 170 degrees. So I used this temperature for the beets. I wanted to make this recipe accessible for anyone, even if you don’t have a dehydrator. If you want to make the pickled beets raw in the oven, test the beet water with a thermometer. Once it reaches over 118 degrees, open the oven slightly and continue to heat and monitor the temperature. I am going to try this method next time I make these, and at the rate that I am eating them, I think I am going to have to make a batch very soon. Please note that using the later method may mean that you need to keep the beets in the oven longer than the suggested time in my recipe.

Ingredients:
5 lb bag of red beets
2 cups apple cider vinegar
2 1/2 cups filtered water
preparing beets

Instructions:
Wash and chop the beets into quarters. Then place them in a 9 x 13 glass baking dish. Fill with water and apple cider vinegar. Place in oven on lower baking rack for 3 hours at 170 degrees. Using a ladle, fill 4-5 small mason jars or 2 large mason jars, with beets and heated liquid. Seal the jar with the lid cover and tighten with a dish cloth. Over the next few hours, as the liquid cools, you will hear the jars start to pop, with is an indication that the jars are vacuum sealed. Once the jars are cool to the touch, you can place them in the fridge and they will last for a long time. I love to take these beets out during dinner as a side dish, or as a crunchy treat to have on their own. You can dress them with olive oil and himalayan salt, but I like them just the way they are!!

Leave a Reply

