Tips for the Aspiring Vegan -Part 2

2. Make an Informed Decision.

When you begin to make the transformation towards becoming vegan, many friends and family members may be very upset by your choice, at least that was the initial response from my family. Coming from a traditional Middle to Eastern European background, my family felt that I was simply going through a phase. So I needed to get informed about why I was making the choices that I was making. Invite your spouse or significant other to learn along with you. When people ask me why I became vegan, I always tell them, just read Anti Cancer by David Servan-Schreiber, MD, Phd. This book was recommended to me as a great read by my cousin Franka who is a Holistic Nutritionist. It is a true account of the author’s life and his transformation towards a healthy vegan lifestyle when through his own brain research he discovers his own cancer. He discusses the science behind how some foods are inflammatory (cancer causing) and others are anti-inflammatory (reduces the risk of developing cancer), and dives into detail about the science behind this knowledge. I read it while I was on vacation. Mario read it as well. He usually doesn’t like to read, but he couldn’t put this book down. He read it front to back in 2 days. I also read the book Skinny Bitch which is a hilarious non-fiction read about how to manage your weight by eating a vegan diet. Aside from the very blunt and sometimes obnoxious comment in the text, the authors go into detail about how the food industry has profited from particular foods such as dairy and high fructose corn syrup. It is a must read. If these two books don’t have you sold, then watching the movie Food Inc definitely will make you think twice before biting into that steak.

Enjoy this time of discovery and knowledge building!!

Check in to our site on Thursday for the next step in my RAWnovation Journey to health and happiness.

Leave a Reply

