Sticky Sweet Butter Tarts

IMG_2760

I don’t know why people feel sorry for me after I answer their questions about what I cannot and will not eat. I am often met with the same response: “So what DO you eat?” as if I sit around and eat carrot sticks all day… like I am “missing out” on life because of the food I eat. What not too many people realize is that I can eat anything – just a healthier, better, more satisfying version of it. I can have my vitamins and butter tarts too. So in actuality, I win.

I enjoyed this tasty tart with a cup of pumpkin spice tea. Happy life.

Makes four 4″ tarts.

Crust

1/2 cup ground almonds
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup sesame seeds
4 tbsp melted coconut oil.

  • Combine in a bowl with a spoon and press it into tart tins. Put in the freezer for 5 minutes to set.

Filling

20 dates soaked in water
3/4 cup walnuts, soaked 4+ hours
2 tsp vanilla extract (not raw)

  • Mix ingredients in the food processor. After it is creamy and thoroughly mixed, pour it into the crusts. Put it back into the freezer for 10-15 minutes to set. Top with pecans and sesame seeds before serving.
Leave a Reply

