My Love Affair: Starring Me + Coconut Oil

When people ask, “If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only have three things, what would they be?” The truth is, I only need one thing and it’s coconut oil. It was only when I traveled this summer did I truly realize how much I love coconut oil and how much I need it in my life. I use it on everything. I use it in sweet and savoury recipes, as makeup remover, tanning oil, moisturizer, body butter, massage oil… If coconut oil were a man, I’d marry him.

There is a growing curiousity about coconut oil and every day, people ask me how I use it. So rather than spending hours spilling my heart about all of the wonders of coconut oil, I thought I’d save my mouth for raw goodies and just share it with you all here. To clarify, when I say “coconut oil”, I mean extra virgin. You can tell the difference between cheap coconut oil and the good stuff by colour, texture, and flavour.

TOP 8 NO NONSENSE USES FOR COCONUT OIL*

  1. Tanning Oil – Coconut oil contains a natural SPF between four and eight (similar to that of synthetic tanning oil), but the best part is, one: you don’t have noxious carcinogens baking onto your bronzing skin, and two: you get to enjoy wafts of macaroon smell as you move to and fro in the summer sun.
  2. Anti fungal agent – Coconut oil can be spread onto some superficial skin issues (like ringworm and athlete’s foot – and let’s face it, no one wants that) and eradicate the bacteria that is causing what ails you. You can also eat it on its own to fight against candida overgrowth.
  3. Makeup remover – I use a mixture of Maiga Shea Oil and coconut oil as an eye makeup remover. I’m a rock and roll girl and I like a lot of black on my eyes and I tells ya, this stuff wipes it completely off.virgin-coconut-oil
  4. Moisturizer – I love slathering myself with coconut oil at night after a shower. That way, there is no risk of my clothing succumbing to potential oil stains AND I can lay in my bed smelling like the tropical islands. Who doesn’t want that!?
  5. Flavour – I love using coconut oil in sweet and savoury recipes; It is a raw foodie’s best friend! However, even if you eat cooked food, coconut oil is a great addition to your shopping list. Sometimes I like to steam sautée collard stems in water, then I toss in the leaves a minute or two later. I steam it in a covered pot until it turns bright green (about 2 or 3 minutes) and then I add a bit of coconut oil and salt. The results are a very tasty dish!
  6. Increases Metabolism –  Coconut oil can be used to rev up your metabolism. There is some controversy here because it also contains a high amount of saturated fat, although, coconut oil fat is comprised of medium-chain triglycerides and therefore, does not affect the body in the same way bad fats do. Due to these two conflicting beliefs, some people are hesitant to eat coconut oil for its high saturated fat content. I think the saturated fat thing is bogus because the benefits certainly outweigh the “negatives”.
  7. Boosts Brain Function – The medium-chain triglycerides in coconut oil can help improve brain function. Click the link for scientific evidence! –> (US National Library of Medicine)
  8. Oil Pulling – Oil pulling is the act of swishing around oil in your mouth at least one time a day for twenty minutes and then spitting it out. (Careful not to swallow!) Pulling must be done on an empty stomach; That means no eating for at least 3 hours before oil swishing. Coconut oil is one of the most popular oils used for oil pulling. It kills the funky bacteria in your mouth and the fats in the oil are absorbed sublingually for all kinds of benefits including: brighter skin, clearer mind, reduction in wrinkles, thicker fingernails…. Magic! (Oilpulling.org)

* I am not a doctor, and my personal reasons for using coconut oil is not intended to cure everyone of everything – Use your best judgement!

2 thoughts on “My Love Affair: Starring Me + Coconut Oil

    • I have to get back into it. I myself did it for 4 months and not only was my skin so much brighter and smoother but my disposition was a whole lot sunnier. I am living proof of the benefits of oil pulling. The best way to do it is to switch up the oil you use every 2 months. The best oils to use are coconut, sunflower, and sesame – all raw and cold pressed. For even better results, do it once in the morning and once before bed on an absolutely empty stomach. Click the oil pulling link for all the details! Please come back and share your experience with us – we’d love to post it!

Leave a Reply

